Ryan M. Church

Sherlock Holmes, Hercule Poirot, and Two Kinds of Suspense All Authors Should Be Aware Of

In Uncategorized on October 2, 2013 at 7:43 pm

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Whatever genre you choose to write, suspense matters. Suspense will be a part of it. Of course, the best genre for suspense is the mystery/thriller genre, so today we’ll turn there to find two kinds of suspense writers can make use of.

I’m a fantasy writer, but the first genre I ever fell in love with was the mystery genre, thanks to Nancy Drew. In eighth grade I discovered Agatha Christie and Hercule Poirot, and recently I started watching “Sherlock” on Netflix.

This led to me downloading all Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes novels and stories for 99 cents on my Kindle. I’ve read about a third of them so far, and I realized the way Doyle creates suspense is very different than Christie sometimes.

SUSPENSE ONE: SHERLOCK–AND YOU–KNOW WHO DID IT…. BUT HOW OR WHY DID THEY DO IT? AND HOW CAN ANYTHING BE PROVEN?

I was shocked…

View original post 872 more words

Leave a Reply

