Ryan M. Church

How Do Readers Envision Characters? 6 things we do….

In Uncategorized on March 10, 2015 at 7:58 pm

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

silhouette-1180300-mI got to thinking today about the reader’s role in creating characters. When we aren’t told what a character looks like, for instance, or what a character is wearing, how do our minds fill in the blanks?

Now, I’m no scientist or psychologist. I’ve done no kind of heavy (or even light) research here. What I’m writing is speculation based on my personal experience. But thinking about this is really fascinating…. What aspects of our life experience DO we use to craft our images of characters when we’re reading?

For me, image creation comes down to these things, which are pretty typical I would think. It’s useful to keep these things in mind when writing if you, as an author, want to influence how readers picture your characters.

Genre and setting will obviously play a role.

1. I WILL THINK OF PEOPLE I KNOW. Do we all do this??? We think of…

View original post 430 more words

Leave a Reply

