Ryan M. Church

Lessons from a Lengthy Series

In Uncategorized on April 6, 2015 at 8:29 pm

Legends of Windemere

Discworld Series by Terry Pratchett Discworld Series by Terry Pratchett

I’ve talked a lot about writing a long series and done many a guest post on it.  Character development over the course of several books, world building, rejuvenating a series that goes beyond a trilogy, and so much more.  I’ve learned a lot by starting off on something that will take a few years to finish.  Though I should answer a question I rarely get answered.

Why?

Interesting how people ask about my inspiration for the stories, but never ask why Legends of Windemere is 15 books long.  With the upcoming release of Sleeper of the Wildwood Fugue, I hit the halfway mark.  I think.  Maybe Book 8 is a better one for that, but I feel like I’m hitting a milestone.  Anyway, I love winding tales and grew up reading some lengthy series.  A trilogy was fun, but I found myself going to…

View original post 725 more words

Leave a Reply

