Ryan M. Church

3 Personal Benefits of Writing a Novel

In Uncategorized on May 8, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Writing Is Hard Work

joys of writing a novelI’ve written four novels now (if you include that terrible teen-becomes-werewolf novel I wrote in high school for a contest but never published) and I suppose that might make me somewhat of an authority to someone who is thinking about sitting down at a computer or legal pad to write a novel.

I’m in the middle of writing my fifth, and so this adds to my credentials I suppose.

I must caveat this post with a warning:  Writing a novel may be the most difficult thing you ever do in your entire life.  It can be mind numbing, terribly difficult to produce, a daily headache to produce possibly even one workable sentence, and it can also put a strain on a relationship with anyone who doesn’t “get it.”

It does, however, have some excellent personal benefits that I will detail here:

  1. Writing a Novel is Therapy – Sure.  This idea…

View original post 478 more words

Leave a Reply

